What’s Your Potential?


I know I’ve been lax with posting this year. Even the ideas that I have don’t seem to untangle themselves enough for me to form them into coherent new posts. I could say that other work has been keeping my mentally and physically occupied (and that would certain not be untrue), but I know that’s not the entire story. So, while I’m still waiting for my own personal brand of writer’s block to work itself to its natural conclusion, I want to share some coaching questions with you that I plan to investigate in my own journal (via http://www.dumblittleman.com).

Why does a coach need coaching questions?”, you might ask?

As someone who makes their living coaching, I am maybe more aware of the non-productive habits and internal negative talk that form stumbling blocks in my own life. When I’m not discussing those issues with another coach (yes, coaches use coaches!), I either meditate or journal about questions, knowing their answers provide an important key to any issue I’m wrestling with. These can be questions that pop into my mind intuitively or in my dreams, or they can be questions that I discover in articles or books that resonate strongly with me.

Why now?

I don’t know how your 2013 has been going, but mine has been a roller coaster ride of new opportunities and experiences. On more than one occasion I have felt like a girl who – with a lot of effort and sweat – has finally climbed her way to the top of the diving tower, only to step out to the edge, look down, and ask herself: “What the heck am I doing up here? What the heck was I thinking????”

Be careful what bold, big ideas you choose to manifest in your life, and have a plan to actually LIVE that life once those ideas begin to take on form and structure…

  • Are you standing at an important juncture in your life?
  • Do you feel like it’s time for a (big) change?
  • Or would you simply like to take stock of where you’ve come from, in order to get a better feel for where you are?

Here are some questions that can help you connect the dots and fill in the pieces. You might want to answer them all, or only the ones that especially resonate with you. You may want to write down your answers (which I strongly recommend), or simply meditate on them. Whatever you choose to do, give yourself the present of time with yourself: To better know and understand who are are, what makes you tick, and which star(s) you should be reaching for!

  1. What one thing makes YOU unique and special?
  2. How do you think the people around you see you?
  3. If money were no object, how would you be spending your time?
  4. What do you do for a living? (Bonus question: And why is it not what you wrote in #3?)
  5. What are you grateful for?
  6. If tomorrow were your last day on Earth, would you be happy with the life you’ve led?
  7. What is the one movie or book you don’t mind diving into over and over again?
  8. If someone made a film about your life, what would it be like?
  9. Are you a better person today than you were a year ago? What about 10 years ago?
  10. What was your last random act of kindness?
  11. How many hours a day do you spend on unproductive things (Facebook, TV, gossip)?
  12. Who is making most of the decisions in your life?
  13. What would you do if you lost all your money?
  14. What is the one thing you fear about growing/being old?
  15. Most importantly: What do you do with the insights you gain about yourself?

The final question is the most important one. I’d love to hear from any of you who’d like to share their answer to that one!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

