Wednesday’s Wisdom: A Voice Ignored


One of the guest panelists on the upcoming TableTalk is Precious Williams.

Precious is a UK-based author and journalist who had this to say about the power in telling our own stories:

“…Nothing could be more undermining than being silenced, having your voice ignored. There is immense power in being heard…”

Eager to find out more about Precious and her work? The following interview  is a wonderful introduction!

If you haven’t already registered to be part of this year’s virtual round table, click to find out more about the event or go directly here to register!

4 Comments

Filed under Virtual Round-Table, Wednesday's Wisdom, Who We Are...

4 responses to “Wednesday’s Wisdom: A Voice Ignored

  1. Yes Sister! Thanks for the continued pursuit for the truth about us. Beautiful choices, stories, incites and all that uncaged glory. Love

  2. Trina

    Thank you so much! You know I hope that your busy schedule will allow you to dial in of the evening. We’d love to have you as part of the evening!

  3. Anna

    Extraordinary story. I am however perplexed why the white family seems to be blamed for so much of this when I would say that the Nigerian mother had a hue role to play in deciding to give the child up to foster care. I am sure not an easy choice, yet to this day she feels that it was all worth it for Precious speaking proper English.

    I am a mother of a mixed child, and I want to make sure that we stop vilifying all white people. I know what I am doing for my own daughter is to my best ability and to improve her life. In the end I do believe that both mother’s really though what they were doing was out of love, as Precious says. And to be fair, many black women often discuss their hair and their children’s hair in the very same manner as this foster family did. That is definitely the biggest point of contention lately between my young daughter and what she wishes she would have versus what she does. No matter the amount of times I comment on how beautiful her hair is, she would like it straight. But then myself as a young girl, I wanted curly and black hair but have stick straight and dirty blond. I think the grass is ALWAYS greener on the other side. Not wanting to diminish that this is definitely important conversations but I also don’t want to jump on the “white people are at fault” band wagon.

    • Trina

      Hello Anna,

      Thanks so much for your response. I’ve mentioned it to Precious, so she can address it directly.

      All the best!
      Trina

Leave a Reply

