New Feature 1: An Uncaged Birds™ Book Club?


As you can see, this new feature comes with a question mark…

Anyone who knows me, knows I’m an avid reader. If anything, I wish I had more time (and more money) to dedicate to reading new – good – books.

Several times a month new book releases catch my attention – including about books by Afro-European authors. Just last Saturday I thought “I really need to read this” when I saw an article about Esi Edugyan’s new book, “Half-Blood Blues”.

But reading in a vacuum is only half the fun.

The recent public discourse about films by Tyler Perry and Kathryn Stockton’s book “The Help” has sharpened my own conviction that

  • Everyone has the right to put their creative work out there (and more power to them if they are successful doing it!), and
  • If I take issue with the quality of creative work that bubbles to the top of public consciousness, I have to do something to help increase the exposure of good books that deserve a broader audience.

That’s how the thought of started a book club began to take on a concrete shape.

I’ve already posted a poll on the group page on Facebook, but I also wanted to pose the question to those of you who haven’t seen it. I’ve also added a few new options…

Would YOU support an Uncaged Birds™ Book Club?

If there are a minimum of four other women committed to the idea by the end of November, we’d have a kick-off session for the book club at the end of January!

2 Comments

Filed under This & That

2 responses to “New Feature 1: An Uncaged Birds™ Book Club?

  1. I would love to join a book club, but find that acquiring books in English here in Greece to be extremely expensive, especially if it is a new book or one that must be imported into the country. But this is my problem – I tend to be quite catholic about my reading and buy books from used book stores or trade with friends.

  2. Trina

    I totally understand, Harolynne! That’s one of two reasons I included the option of reading excerpts instead of an entire book. The other reason was people’s possible time restraints. That way we could insure good books/authors more exposure, and provide people with a better basis for their ultimate purchasing decisions.

    Let’s see who else jumps on board and what those ladies prefer.

Leave a Reply

