Affirmations: Powerful Conversations with Ourselves (11)


TODAY: Help Other Women See The Brilliance Within

Because we are all phenomenal – and it’s time we realize it!

 

 

This picture* captures an often-repeated scenario in my family’s history: My mother and I saying “goodbye” to one another at the airport. Last week, though, the scene was played out in the other direction as my mom left for home after a four-week stay here in Germany.

As I get older I become more and more aware of all the forces who have given me the strength to go out into the world and be who I was destined to be. Without a doubt, my mother has been both a lighthouse and a pillar of strength in my life.

  • If I had the ambition to excel academically, it’s because my mother encouraged me to embrace, love and trust my own intellect.
  • If I had the courage to travel to Germany at 14, it’s because my mother taught me that – even as a black woman – the sky is the limit. Literally.
  • If I had the courage to start my own business, it’s because my mother raised me to believe that there is no one out there better than me, and I can accomplish anything, if I only put my mind to it.

Does this mean life has always been  a smooth ride for me? No! Because not all the voices inside my head are my mother’s voice. Sometimes the variety of voices and their contradictory messages confuse me; sometimes the negative voices overpower even the most positive message.

My mom’s visit, however, was one long affirmation. It/She reminded me not only where I come from, but who I am and where I’m going. The powerful charge of spiritual energy that flowed between us also strengthened the connection between me and my own daughter, and helped me relish in the promise of the future my granddaughter represents even more.

Of course, my mother is not the only source of inspiration in my life, nor is she the only woman who has shown me a reflection of the brilliance that (still) lies untapped inside me. But I think it’s fair to say that she was the first one to see something special in me and think it worth nurturing and protecting. And she’s the one who has silently and prayerfully always had my back. Unconditionally.

I’m not your mother, but I know you are all brilliant, too!

  • Even if you didn’t hear it often or loud enough while you were growing up, believe it now!
  • Even if there are forces in your life trying to break you or hold you down, believe it today!
  • Even if you feel you are off track in your life, believe it like your life depended on it!

And now go out there and live your life – brilliantly!

 

~~

* Taken at Philadelphia International Airport in approx. 1976

 

2 Comments

Filed under Affirmations

2 responses to “Affirmations: Powerful Conversations with Ourselves (11)

  1. this is a wonderful post.. and very inspiring .. I didnt have the support from my mother like you have.. but I did have my grandmother.. to be my light. Everyone should recognize their worth… even if you need to tell yourself..Thanks Trina very good post

  2. Trina

    Thanks, Jo! Sometimes the mother figure in our lives is really a grandmother, aunt, neighbor or close friend. Sometimes (if all else fails) we may have to muster the strength from within ourselves to literally mother ourselves. The most important thing is that we – if only for an instant – catch a glimpse of our own personal brilliance and realize it exists. Even that brief instant can change our lives. Because once we seen ourselves in our full glory, we can never live as though it doesn’t exist again.

Leave a Reply

